Envoi

0189_Envoi

Envoi

Earth puts her colours by,
And veils her in one whispering cloak of shadow;
Green goes from the meadow,
Red leaves and flowers and shining pools are shrouded;
A few stars sail upon a windy sky,
And the moon is clouded.

The delicate music, traced
In and out of the soft lights and the laughter,
Is hushed, round ledge and rafter
The last faint echoes into silence creeping;
The harp is mute, the violins encased,
And the singers sleeping:

So, now my songs are done,
Leave me to-night awhile and the starlight gleaming,
To silence and sweet dreaming,
Here where no music calls, no beauty shakes me;
Till in my heart the birds sing to the sun
And the new dawn wakes me.

~ P. H. B. Lyon, (1893 – 1986)

8 thoughts on “Envoi

    • I discovered this poem when my children were very small, and I’ve cherished it ever since. Last night’s magical blue moon set me to thinking about how much I have always loved the nighttime. I was reminded of this poem, and of my gardens bathed in evening shadows, and voila, this post was born! xox

    • You are more than welcome, Nancy! So thoughtful of you to take a moment to drop me a note – thank you! I’m delighted to know you’re enjoying my posts. Makes me smile. 🙂 Blessings~ xo

  1. Ah, perfection – of beauty and phrasing. Thank you dear Amy, I think I will take these beautiful words with me today into sunshine and grace. ♥

    • Isn’t this the loveliest poem, Tamara? I’ve carried these words with me from the first moment I read them, more than thirty years ago now. Beauty is timeless. xox

Leave a Reply

