One pollinator, rescued.

This morning, I happened to glance out my kitchen window, which looks out over a flowerbed that runs along our front walkway. In this flowerbed is a bird bath we keep as a little oasis for our resident birds. Because of continual local rainstorms, we haven’t filled our bird bath once this month. In fact, the latest cloudburst filled it to its absolute brim.

When I glanced outside to the bird bath below, I detected rapid motion in the water. At first I thought a dragonfly had fallen in. Peering closer, I saw that it was a bumblebee, flailing for its life. Still in my pajamas, I raced outside, reached for a twig, and fished the drowning bumblebee out of the water. I gently set the poor creature down on an unfurling blossom in my echinacea patch.

The bumblebee crawled a fraction of an inch, then fell into a tiny heap of exhaustion. I watched it closely for any sign of recovery. After a minute or two, it stretched its legs and began to fan its wings. Satisfied I had done all I could, I returned indoors.

0175_One pollinator, rescued

Twenty minutes later or so, and, yes, still in my pajamas, I went back outside to check on my little patient. My heart took wing when I saw that the bumblebee had flown away.

One pollinator, rescued. Today is off to a great start.

8 thoughts on “One pollinator, rescued.

    • I love that small creatures are precious to you, as they are to me. I’m grateful I happened to see that poor bumblebee’s predicament before it was too late. xoxo

  1. What a lovely post you have here. It warms my heart to see that the bee recovered and flew off to another flower and another day. Great picture of the bee soaking wet and worn out, limp on the flower head… What a delight for you to see you’ve made a difference, no matter how small. You’ve touched my heart, indeed.

    Take care and happy blogging, from Laura ~

    • It truly was a delight this morning, Laura, to know I made a difference to one small creature. It made my day! Thank you for stopping by and leaving these kind words. All my best wishes to you~ xo

Leave a Reply

