Peace is within you.

Last June, my family and I visited the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site in Atlanta, GA. It was an intensely moving experience for each of us. Today, in honor of the great Dr. Martin Luther King, I’m posting a few photos from our visit.

0134_peace is within you 1

The events of Dr. King’s life are depicted on this mural outside the visitor center of The Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site.

 

 

0134_peace is within you2

Peace poems written by children encircle The Martin Luther King, Jr. “I Have a Dream” World Peace Rose Garden.

 

 

0134_peace is within you3

“I Have a Dream. . .”

4 thoughts on “Peace is within you.

  1. at my house, in honor of trying to focus clearly on the dream, my little guy and i went to see Selma, the movie. we squeezed hands through most of it. it tore my heart apart. but it is powerful and a fabulous lens through which to contemplate the sacrifice and raw courage of not only martin luther king, jr., but also those who loved him dearly and had him stolen from their lives and the depths of their hearts. made me think we need to up the determination to rid our world of its injustices, even if the only world we can change is the narrow one in which we walk each day….

    • I’m so glad you took your dear son to see Selma. What a perfect way to honor the dream. I agree, we must be willing to stand up to injustice. I was re-reading the plaques I photographed during our visit to the King Center. These words stood out for me today:

      When evil men plot, good men must plan. When evil men burn and bomb, good men must build and bind. When evil men shout ugly words of hatred, good men must commit themselves to the glories of love. Where evil men would seek to perpetuate an unjust status quo, good men must seek to bring into being a real order of justice. ~ Martin Luther King, Jr.

    • Thank you, Ellen. The children’s poems were so poignant, a sweet message of hope and love, a chorus for peace. Jermya’s marvelous words went straight to my heart. Why can’t the world hear and understand the truths this child has articulated so beautifully and so well?

      I hope someday you’ll have an opportunity to visit The King Center in Atlanta. It’s an indelible experience, something every American should see. xo

Leave a Reply

