When I Heard the Learn’d Astronomer

0095_When I Heard the Learn'd Astronomer

A time-lapse photo of the night sky over our beloved Iowa homestead, which has belonged to our family for over 150 years.

When I Heard the Learn’d Astronomer

When I heard the learn’d astronomer;
When the proofs, the figures, were ranged in columns before me;
When I was shown the charts and the diagrams, to add, divide, and measure them;
When I, sitting, heard the astronomer, where he lectured with much applause in the
lecture-room,
How soon, unaccountable, I became tired and sick;
Till rising and gliding out, I wander’d off by myself,
In the mystical moist night-air, and from time to time,
Look’d up in perfect silence at the stars.

~Walt Whitman, (1819 – 1892). Leaves of Grass.

6 thoughts on “When I Heard the Learn’d Astronomer

  1. “mystical moist night-air,” reading those words while under the spell of the night swirl from your breathtaking homestead is about as magical as this cyberworld can be. the only thing better would be to tiptoe under that sky, side by side with you, and listen to the turning of the book’s page, as you decided which whitman you’d read under the star-stitched blanket….

    • . . . Or, perhaps, under that star-stitched blanket, the flutter of a page as you’d choose what to read from Slowing Time. That would be pure, sweet magic. Blessings to loveliest you~ xox

Leave a Reply

